Potassium

An article, in New Scientist, on how partly replacing Sodium Chloride by Potassium Chloride would help reduce High Blood Pressure, caught my attention.
I suffer from High Blood Pressure, whilst also needing Potassium supplements (adrenal adenomas). There is an upper limit to the recommended dosage of Potassium, because it can affect the heart etc. (the lethal injection, used in some US States, is mainly an overdose of Potassium; so not painless) but I could, maybe, benefit from exceeding that dosage.
Later in the article, it suggested that cooking salt could be legislated to contain a percentage of Potassium. this was cited as proving beneficial legislation requiring the addition of Iodine to Salt. This, again, caught my attention, because I require Laevothyroxine supplements (max dose), where the Iodine in my diet (I like eating sea fish) and in processed food may be at fault.
Maybe I could opt out of extra iodine in the table salt.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.