@VodafoneUKhelp I feel you’ve scammed me upto next August but then I swap.

A few years back, I bought my wife a phone on a contract with Vodafone.

Of course most of the £21+/month was to pay for the phone and my wife was using well under her contracted minutes etc.

Vodafone rang up to get me to upgrade to new phone but I turned them down, because my wife had taken over a year to learn how to drive the phone.

Looking around, I saw Sim only deals for £5-£7 /month, So I rang Vodafone to see what they offered. I immediately rejected the £9/month offered but accepted an offer of £4.50 / month.

It was a decent deal, I wouldn’t have any problems keeping the same phone number and my wife was averaging half the number of texts offered. Brilliant!

I checked the first few bills and everything seemed fine:

For phone number 07881 xxx xxx used by MR JOHN SHALE
Total £4.50
Usage charges up to 13 Jul
    Calls £0.00
    Messaging, mobile internet £0.00
Service charges and credits
    Your price plan
14 Jul to 13 Aug
£7.50
    Discount on SIMO8 12M 300M 500T 250MB SMRT
14 Jul to 13 Aug
cr£3.75
    3 Months No Extra Data Charges
14 Jul to 13 Aug
£0.00
Total before VAT £3.75
VAT at 20% on £3.75 £0.75
Total for this bill £4.50
Total £4.50

 

Later on, a friend, of my wife, had some problems and the texts increased, so a larger bill arrived.

 

 

Total

£18.75
Usage charges up to 13 Sep
    Calls £0.00
    Messaging, mobile internet £8.13
Service charges
    Your price plan
14 Sep to 13 Oct
£7.50
Total before VAT £15.63
VAT at 20% on £15.63 £3.12
Total for this bill £18.75
Total £18.75
by Direct Debit on or after 24 September 2014

Your Plan comes with 300 minutes, 500 texts and 250MB of internet (SIMO8 12M 300M 500T 250MB SMRT)

I tried contacting Vodafone, to find out what had happened and was told that my wife had exceeded her 500 texts by 50. However, I was also informed that my contract was for £9/month .

I felt I had to accept the extra £9.75 as a penalty for exceeding the agreed number of texts but was concerned that the agreed baseline had changed and I couldn’t get a sensible explanation over the phone. So I tried tweeting @VodafoneUKhelp , who directed me to a web form email to fill in.

It didn’t really fit the bill but I responded and got an email back which merely repeated that a voicemail had been left on my wife’s phone, this was my contracted rate and was valid until August.

 

Hello Mr Shale,

Thanks for your email.

I tried to call you today but the call was routed to voicemail, so left a message.

For us to access your account and assist you please get back to us with the below two details:

– Monthly line rental that you pay for 07881xxxxxxx

– Number of active connections you have on this account with Vodafone

Also please provide a brief description of you query.

Once we’ve verified the details we’ll look to resolve your query as soon as possible.

Kind Regards,

Jagruti Manshani
Customer Service Agent (eForum)

Vodafone Limited
Vodafone HQ, The Connection, Newbury, Berkshire, RG14 2FN
Registered in England No 1471587

RE: WRT165 [#8072024]‏

My Reply

john shale

29/09/2014

To: ccare.webmails@help.vodafone.co.uk

I replied

I tried to find out how much she had gone over and had to use your on-line text help to find out (I think it was 50 texts) .
I was then told that I was on the £9:50 plan, which is not what I contracted too. I notice that the rebate is missing from the above.
I’d like to know if the agreed contract is ended, or if you intend to re-instate the rebate on my next bill.
I have no wish to pay £9:50 per month for the level of usage that my wife had in the previous years, under the previous contract, when I was effectively buying her a phone.
I’m hoping that you will either re-instate the agreed terms, or terminate the contract, without the £56 penalty that your operative told me that I would have to pay, to terminate it myself.

( What does this mean ?      “Number of active connections you have on this account with Vodafone”)

Date: Thu, 2 Oct 2014 13:54:47 +0000
From: ccare.webmails@help.vodafone.co.uk
To: xxxxxxxxx@hotmail.com
Subject: RE: WRT165 [#8072024]

Hi Mr Shale,

Thanks for your reply.

Your contract started on the 13/06/2014 and will end on the 12/06/2015. As your contract hasn’t ended, we can’t cancel it without any early cancellation fee. We also can’t amend the termination fee, I’m afraid.

If there’s anything else we can help with, please let us know.

Thanks,

Darshit Soni
Customer Service Agent (eForum)
Vodafone Limited
Vodafone HQ, The Connection, Newbury, Berkshire, RG14 2FN
Registered in England No 1471587

I replied

you can confirm that I will continue to receive the £3.75 credit which was agreed, when the contract started. This is the point, which I have been striving to make and which you seem to have been at great effort to ignore.
Are you honouring the contract or are YOU, by default, terminating the AGREED CONTRACT?
Date: Sun, 5 Oct 2014 16:29:38 +0000
From: ccare.webmails@help.vodafone.co.uk
To: xxxxxxxxxx@hotmail.com
Subject: RE: WRT165 [#8072024]
Hello Mr Shale,
Thanks for your reply.
I’ve checked your Vodafone account and can see that the 50% discount on the line rental was applied for the first 3 months only. The discount was valid from 11/06/2014 till 11/09/2014.
After this period you’ll be charged the full line rental amount till the contract end date.
I trust this information is useful.
Kind regards,
Sudeep Ghosh
Customer Service Agent (eForum)
Vodafone Limited
Vodafone HQ, The Connection, Newbury, Berkshire, RG14 2FN
Registered in England No 1471587

I Replied

john shale

06/10/2014

To: ccare.webmails@help.vodafone.co.uk

I was not told that I was agreeing to a 12 month contract that would only be discounted for three months.
I definitely would not have accepted it if I had.
Please send me a copy of the taped conversation in which I, allegedly, agreed to this; if such exists.
I believe that you may be acting in a duplicitous manner.
It would seem that I have no redress, should you persist in this line; however I have made a record of our communications, which I will copy to my friends via my blog and Twitter.
I urge to check your tapes for this version of the transaction.

RE: WRT165 [#8072024]

Hello Mr Shale,
Thanks for  your reply.

I’ve checked and found that you had upgraded your contract on 11/06/2014 for a 12 months duration for 3 months half price plan. The upgrades was done via Live chat and the terms and conditions were informed to you over the chat and you agreed to it. Since the terms and conditions were agreed we are unable to make any changes to your plan.

We are unable to forward the chat transcript via email due to security reasons. If you wish to receive the transcript of the upgrade, would request you fill the form here.

A charge of £10.00 will be applicable.

Your understanding is appreciated.

Kind Regards,

Jagruti Manshani
Customer Service Agent (eForum)

Vodafone Limited
Vodafone HQ, The Connection, Newbury, Berkshire, RG14 2FN
Registered in England No 1471587

I replied

I don’t believe that I agreed to such terms, not even in any small print add-on; however I am unprepared to give you £10 for some transcript, which might be a fiction.

I will put this on my blog with the admission that I am unable to substantiate my version of the transaction. As you can see from the nature of my conversation with your employee my version is more in line with what I was asking for and that if I had been aware that it was for 3months only, I would not have been content to continue. You might also agree that if you had been prepared to email the relevant section and proven me to be mistaken, then I would have had to apologise. Again, if you had agreed to ending the contract without a £56 rip-off fine, then instead of feeling wronged and intent on switching to another service, I might have felt that you had, tried to treat me fairly.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

