@BTCare BTHomeHub3 seems to be causing a lot of concern

In desperation, having tried to get a wieless connection to my computer, I stumbled on this Forum on BT’s own website.

http://community.bt.com/t5/BT-Infinity/Home-Hub-3-problems/td-p/147863/page/2

These aren’t newbies, like me.

They are old BT customers.

Basic message seems to be, either learn a programming language and do your own software patches or chuck the BTHomew hub3 and use another router. Many seem to be suggesting the BT home hub2 or a Netgear kit.

I was considering trying an old netgear router from a friend but my wife pointed out that I needed to use the BTHomehub3 for my BTvision+ (I assume this is correct).

So, a third Way seemed to be to use the land line gear and ethernet cables provided.

I was concerned that my house wasn’t set out in a manner that allowed me to use them, as advised, and that I’d have to buy extra long ethernet cabling.

Luckily they seem to be working via an extension multisocket (touch wood). and my homehub is close enough to the main phone socket to directly fit the ADSL  lead.

My wife’s got her BTvision+, I’ve got my desktop broadband. Just need to see if I got any drop-outs and if My wife can use her WII connection.

I’m desperate to avoid the ¬£130 call out charge, which seems to be whole point of not actually fixing BThomehub3.

I’m also dreading having to tell the wife that she’d have to connect up her old cheap freeview box, if she wants the teletext service, after passing on BT’s little lie about getting Freeview services.

Here’s hoping that a big organisation like BT can find the technical help that it obviously needs to provide the service that it’s “suits” are advertising.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “@BTCare BTHomeHub3 seems to be causing a lot of concern”

  1. vinyl wraps Says:

    You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be really something which I think I would
    never understand. It seems too complex and very broad for me.
    I am looking forward for your next post, I will
    try to get the hang of it!

Leave a Reply

