Trying to contact Virgin Media, on-line, like trying to swim through quicksand

—– Original Message —–

From: “Virgin Media Team 1 (IT6)” <IBMKANA.TW@virginmedia.co.uk

To: “John Shale   xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Sent: Monday, May 14, 2012 6:02 AM

Subject: Re: Virgin Media Helpsite Webform – General Enquiry Form (KMM7632716I87L0KM)

 
Our ref: KANA 2802853

Hello John,

Thanks for your e-mail to Virgin Media asking us why you’re unable to  get the breakdown of your monthly service charges online.

We’re sorry to hear about the trouble you’re facing for accessing your  online account.

It looks like the password you gave us doesn’t match the details on your  account. For security reasons, we can update your contact e-mail address  on the account or send you a copy of your bills by e-mail only when  you’ve filled in the right password. This is to make sure there’s only  one person accessing your details – and that’s you.

Just so you know considering the feedback we have received from our  customers, we have changed the format of the bill from August 2011 to  make it easy to read and understand.

Here’s more information regarding what has changed:

– We’re clearly showing the bundle price our customer is expecting to  pay – not a jumble of numbers with discounts applied.
– We’ve made our bills easier to follow, with totals at the bottom of  each section.

We can send the VAT receipts every month for your future bills which  will include the breakdown of the service charges for your account. The  VAT receipts will be sent during the first week of every month  separately. Please confirm if you would like to get the VAT receipts  with the correct password.

If you want to reduce your package and to discuss about your account,  please call us for free on 150 from any Virgin Media phone.  Alternatively, you can call us on 0845 454 1111* from any other phone.  We’re available Monday to Sunday from 8 am to Midnight and we’ll be  happy to help.

The password we require is the one you quote whenever you call to speak  to our team and not the password you use to access and view your bills  or online account.

To try again, click the link below:    www.virginmedia.com/contact  Then just tap in the right password, send us your question and we’ll get  straight on the case.

Kind regards,             Zainab Sarazahi           Virgin Media

I don’t understand how I can discuss my package, without knowing my component costs.

I don’t know how dropping component costs makes it easier to understand what you are paying for.

In my own case since adapting the new format bill and dropping paper bills, my “bundle” price has increased dramatically.

The problem with your website is that you are insistent on re-directing customers to your FAQ’s page, after they’ve guessed wrong about which link is taking them to where they want to go.

Just getting to email a general query becomes a nightmare, when it doesn’t fit one of your permitted categories.

The password issue is not of my making. Any changes to my password have arisen out your software/operating system losing or changing it. I have the original password, given when I signed up to this service. It would help if, in cases of confusion, this could be used as my default password.

The actual secondary complaint made was that having linked through to you, via an email sent by you to me (as this one has), you then demand to know my password address etc. before I’ll be allowed to question or complain. I’d phone you except your phone service usually demands my inside leg measurement etc., as well. and that’s after listening to various disembodied voices delivering unwanted information.

******Is it possible to let me know what the costs of the individual components of my bill are, or to, at least, tell me where I can get that information so that I can make some sensible decisions about reducing my expenses.

It shouldn’t be so nightmarish, on my part, or so difficult, on your part, to get this information.

I’m not threatening to switch supplier, yet, despite your impersonal and “couldn’t give a damn” communication, shown below.

 

I’m about to try the link, given below, in full expectation that I will be abused once more.

 

I was right the link, given, is just the same vexatious blind alley. It did, however, remind me of a trivial problem, which I have learned to live with.
When I access my blueyonder emails, via windows mail (because it is much better set out and user friendly), I get various error messages (e.g. Your server has unexpectedly terminated the connection. Possible causes for this include server problems, network problems, or a long period of inactivity. Subject ‘Re: Virgin Media Helpsite Webform – General Enquiry Form (KMM7632716I87L0KM)’, Account: ‘pop3.blueyonder.co.uk’, Server: ‘smtp.blueyonder.co.uk’, Protocol: SMTP, Port: 465, Secure(SSL): Yes, Error Number: 0x800CCC0F) .
On line forums indicate that they are a consequence of you trying to “upgrade” your services and that you will sort them, when you’re “good and ready”.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

