who’s president?

My thanks to Wikipaedia for this clarification of who was European president:
President of the European Union (or President of Europe) could be a reference to any of:
President of the European Council (since 1 December 2009, Herman Van Rompuy)
President of the European Commission (since 22 November 2004, José Manuel Barroso)
Presidency of the Council of the European Union (since 1 July 2011, Polish Prime Minister Donald Tusk)
The President of the European Parliament is Jerzy Buzek.
My initial interest was engendered through the speech by The Polish Prime Minister, who argued strongly for Europe allowing free movement across borders.
One can understand his concern. Whilst money is flying out of Britain through French and German ownership of Our national Utilities, a smaller amount is leaking out through foreign workers / residents, sending cash home. One can not blame these economic migrants, nor can one blame their politicians, who can see the benefit that accrues to their economies.
One does wonder though about the acumen of domestic politicians, who seem determined to continue to allow this pauperisation of their countrymen.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: